Calling black nonbelievers in Milwaukee


The presence of nonbelievers in Milwaukee is on the rise with the creation of a new group Black Nonbelievers of Milwaukee. We are out to welcome African-Americans in our area who consider themselves skeptic, atheists, agnostics, humanists or perhaps not any label at all.  There is a national organization of Black nonbelievers that new group joined and they are assisting us. In our community it is common to talk about having a church home and getting married in the church. Ministers play an important social function, as the Dr. Martin Luther King holiday reminds us.

Nonbelievers come in many different shapes, sizes, colors and other beliefs. I wrote something on atheist nexus that originated as a WordPress block entry concerning my response to President Obama’s state of the Union address. To my surprise I received a very unpleasant retort from a rather conservative atheist. Since I must approve all comments on the blog, I rejected it and posted my own response. I don’t feel obligated to post anything that disagrees with my point of view simply because I’m using a social media site. Should I post something from the local Republican Party or the Ku Klux Klan? Certainly not.

I use this as an example of a disagreement that may arise within the Black Nonbelievers of Milwaukee. My hope is that we will deal with these questions respectfully without airing our dirty laundry for others to see. I feel like we are on the deck of the Starship Enterprise and the Captain is about to set a course for a distant planet at Warp Factor 7. Engage.

the-roots-questlove

Leave a Reply

