Things I did not know about my mother


Detail of Quilt block of a flower in applique ...
Detail of Quilt block of a flower in applique and reverse applique (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

363

 

Foundation piecing. English paper piecing. Quilt.
Foundation piecing. English paper piecing. Quilt. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I called home a few minutes ago to my a request about a holiday gift that would have meaning. None of the junk that they push in the ads that began when I was visiting at Thanksgiving would make any difference. And then I thought about the quilt that had been on the bed when I visited and mentioned it to my sweetheart. Having heard a dozen stories about my mother, she exclaimed, is there anything your mother couldn’t do?

 

Not much, apparently. Today, she fired up the snow blower and went up and down the street clearing snow. Then she drove to the drug store to pick up medication for her and my sister. My sister told me that mom gets these bits of fabric that had sewn together by her grandmother and makes them into a quilt. she is very much her grandmother’s child. She was one of those who would be sitting and listening to her grandmother how to do certain things and then she set out to do them. My mother is very small; she was barely 5 feet one inches tall when I was younger and she shrank due to osteoporosis. Because of her small size, she was useful working in the defense plant crawling into the cockpit of fighter planes during World War 2.

 

Another job that I never knew about was driving a cab part-time after we had moved into our house. My mother has also worked in every area of nursing imaginable.

 

So I am hoping I will look up in a couple of weeks and find a big box from the post office filled with my mother’s love and a quilt that began way before I was born. I will use the quilt to sleep under with the woman I love and that will be this christmas.

 

393

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Things I did not know about my mother

Leave a Reply

