A guide to popular blog entries


Breast Blissymbol
Breast Blissymbol (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Closeup of the breasts of a pregnant woman. Fr...
Closeup of the breasts of a pregnant woman. Français : Plan rapproché des seins d’une femme enceinte. Italiano: Primo piano dei seni di una donna incinta. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now that I have surpassed 12,200 hits, I feel compelled to pass along my knowledge of blogging. This is probably an advantage of taking a sick day. I am compulsive when it comes to checking my daily stats and I notice that people return daily to re-check certain blog entries. These have been among my most popular

1. Tits or no tits, sir? I  witnessed a silly Facebook fight in an atheist group that began when a young woman from Australia posted a couple of photos showing that she had breasts.  They were almost fully covered but the way that one man went off, you would think it was a Penthouse centerfold. After ranting and raving about this, he was finally expelled for “slut-shaming.” Amused by this fight, I decided to write a little blog entry that included a picture of two large breasts. People come by to check out the breast story every day. Even one of my female co-workers checked them out. You can try this yourself. Write something about almost anything and then use the word tit or breast in the title and wham you will have readers following you everywhere. Even the number of subscribers has steadily increased since the story about tits. When you read this entry, you will find that the breasts have returned. I am interested in learning whether they will remain as popular  today as they were a few weeks ago. As to the young woman whose pictures started the uproar, she drifted away and is probably checking out atheist groups down under.

2. Death of Joan Lawrence

Joan Lawrence was a controversial figure in Milwaukee mental health who served as Executive Director of Our Space, Inc. The last time I saw her it was clear that she was ill and I figured that I might not see her again. I wanted to remember the good things about her and so I did that in the blog entry. I also pointed out as I wrote and revised the entry that like everyone Joan had her flaws. What I have noticed is that more than a year after I wrote it, that story gets regular visitors. I wonder if these are her enemies who were not certain she was really dead. But I would suggest writing blog entries about local controversies and then promoting them to your friends.

3. We have the right to violate you

This story was generated by one of my favorite programs This American Life which highlighted Adrian Schoolcraft a former New York City policeman. Schoolcraft had exposed corruption in the police department by taping comments from his superiors encouraging Schoolcraft and his fellow officers to make unnecessary stops under the stop and frisk policy. Instead of being praised as a hero, Schoolcraft became the subject of an investigation that landed him in a mental health ward. He fled the city, going to live in upstate New York with his father, a retired police officer. However, the harassment did not stop there, as the radio story included a tape of New York City police   knocking on his door and asking him to return with them to face charges. Adrian Schoolcraft had no rights that the New York City Police Department was bound to respect.

A reporter wrote a book about Adrian Schoolcraft but New York Police Department has never acknowledged its wrongful actions against him. The story fascinated me because I work in mental health and  I wanted to understand the lengths to which people will go to cover up their crimes,. I learned that the sky can be the limit. Ad wearing a badge offers no protection.

It was a popular entry and I updated the story to include information about the book. My advice is to look for controversy, even if others have covered the same story. You might be able to help someone by spreading the word.

 

Leave a Reply

