That’s a WRAP


I spent the day in a very supportive environment learning about Wellness Recovery Action Plans from two persons with the Copeland Center. We had a big turnout including people from several different mental health agencies, Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division and even people from outside Milwaukee. This event was sponsored by the Community Services branch of the Milwaukee County Mental Health Complex and demonstrates their commitment to help empower persons with lived experience. Indeed, the two facilitators are people who have been there.

It’s gratifying to be in a position where I can help make a difference in people’s lives. In less than a decade, I have gone from needing assistance from the Veterans Administration to being a couple of months away from beginning a journey that will end with a degree, as I described in my essay, Master the Possibilities. The road that I have chosen is not for everyone. So be it. It works for me and that’s in my WRAP Plan.

 

Leave a Reply

