Debating the war


Until tonight I did not realize I had strong feelings about the war drums beating in Washington. I debated briefly with a facebook friend about the war. When the Syrian civil war broke out I was following it via twitter. We have been flooded with images of bombing and fighting and a stalemate has emerged. It no longer seemed inevitable that the Syrian government would fall. Now there is a potential gamechanger: Syrian use of chemical weapons. But is this a gamechanger for Americans like me? Polls show that Americans are not convinced that this is our war to fight and I agree.I believe that the Syrian civil war should be decided by Syrians. We need to begin understanding the limits to power. Is it really possible that America can’t live without war?

 

Leave a Reply

