What’s left in recovery?


This is a mental health blog that focuses on wellness. I don’t write about my diagnosis as often as other writer. And my diagnosis is not in the title of the blog. For one thing, there was a long time during which I felt that I was perfectly healthy.  I wrote grant proposals, set up organizations, worked in a library and accomplished a lot of wonderful things. All of this while occasionally seeing a therapist. After the diagnosis I never developed an identity as a patient. Some of the language that I clung to was that I was regaining my ability to become the person I was intended to be. It was a self-directed discovery of self.

I sound and feel more confident than at any time in the past And I have reconciled with my past. They were putting up inspirational sayings on our doors today and the one they chose for me said that I had dealt with the past and was ready to move forward.

To me, this mental journey is about doing many of the things that anyone else would do: vacationing, falling in love with one’s family, having comfortable surroundings, enjoying financial success, living life to the fullest and sharing what I have learned along the way. No matter what anyone else tells you, it’s possible to rub your belly, touch your toes and say “ah” all at the same time.

 

One thought on “What’s left in recovery?

Leave a Reply

