What would recovery look like?


This week we asked ourselves at our agency whether there was anyone in our programs who looked like he or she she could “graduate” from our services. In the less intensive service, we have people who actually need the more intensive program. Sometimes people do leave programs if you look at the reports published by Milwaukee County. But they’re leving for the wrong reasons either because the y can no longer be found  or because they have died. but what about on the other end where someone has progressed to the point where we can honestly say they have enough support in place where they are able to make it without case management? That’s probably rare.

Nevertheless it is something for which we can strive every day. The first step I believe is to ask the person with whom we are working what is their vision of recovery. I believe that I have recovered. I have gained a basic understanding of myself. I work full time and I can handle my own affairs. I need medication to manage my moods but otherwise I am fine. I have a responsible role in the society assisting others in obtaining things they need in their lives. I am respected on my job and praiosed by my co-workers. After a time of getting to know one another we are now functioning more as a team.

To begin orienting toward recovery we need to build relationships built upon mutual trust and understanding with the people we assist. We need to ask questions: why, how, where, when and even more. I can think of a particular person I have helped who I could see glimpsing what her recovery would look like. Think she would like to work, have an apartment, nice clothes, and a significant companion in her life. She would like to have a car and have a place for faith. I think she may be 18 months away from achieving such a vision. It will be one of the happiest moments in my life to see the case manager sign her program discharge papers.

I have this person in mind but many people I see are slipping or rushing toward crisis. I will hold onto the strength of the recovery model to keep from becoming discouraged with things that become crises.

2 thoughts on “What would recovery look like?

  1. “Recovery” means different things to different people. I like the idea of asking individuals what “recovery” would mean or look like to them and using that as the guiding vision to work toward. “Recovery” is self-defined. – Renea

    Like

Leave a Reply

