The iceman cometh


I figured I needed something dramatic to announce that I was returning to my blog after a month. Remarkably, I seemed to gain even more readers when I wasn’t writing. All these new subscribers will be terribly disappointed once they start reading my new articles. I mean, how could I live up to their expectations after they’ve been reading my reruns for an entire month? Clearly, I’ve peaked. My only hope if that the new readers won’t write in demanding that “the other guy” return. Which other guy, you might inquire. The one who wrote all of those evocative and insightful essays that drew them into my lair. The one who fascinated a young woman on a plane trip from Buffalo so that she wrote to me. I may not know the meaning of the word verdant (sorry, McArthur Foundation) but 80 some people, a throng, if you will, are hanging on my every word. On my blogger’s honor, I can’t disappoint them. Even if I’m not the other guy.

Leave a comment