An argument with my neighbor


I decided to ask my next door neighbor, who has strong opinions, what he thought about the Affordable Care Act. He proceeded to hem and haw and talk about how he didn’t know what was in it, my goodness the law passed in the middle of the night and it was so long, who could have read the whole thing.

This made me impatient so I said, it was a simple yes or no. Then I told him about several provisions.

1. Coverage for pre-existing conditions

2. Eliminating the gap in medication coverage for the elder, the so-called “donut hole.”

3. Allowing young adults to remain on their parent’s health insurance up to age 26

4. Creating health exchanges to help people buy health insurance on the open market

5. Funding for health are cooperatives.

6. Subsidies to help the middle class and businesses afford health care coverage

7. Expanded Medicaid coverage for the near-poor.

8. Reforming the student loan program so that the federal government directly operates the program without private lenders, the way it was originally designed.

In other words, I know a lot about what this law includes and I said I approved of all those things. In fact, I compared it to Medicare, in terms of being the greatest social benefit created since the Johnson administration.  I even pointed to a young boy who was sitting in front of my house and said that he probably benefits from the new law. Now, mind you,  my neighbor is insured through a single payer system called the Veterans Administration. But he ultimately refused to give a straight answer about the things that were in the health care law.

I wrote on Facebook that I believed the decision by Justice Roberts, a conservative appointed by George W. Bush, was the equivalent to “only Nixon could go to China.” You could go back and refer to Chief Justice Earl Warren  writing the Brown school desegregation decision. He had been appointed by President Eisenhower. And of course Harry Justice Blackmun, wrote the Roe v. Wade decision and was generally considered part of the liberal wing of the court.

There are fights to come as repugnants try to hinder the implementation through more law suits, delaying tactics, distorted campaign commercials and talk show blather but today, a bitter battle was fought and our side (barely) won.

2 thoughts on “An argument with my neighbor

Leave a Reply

