Everything Matters: Beyond Meds

Any diagnosis of mental illness results in a complicated and uncertain fate for those it strikes. When you lose a son as a result of such a diagnosis, it ignites a search for answers. Suzanne Beachy has gained a perspective on life as a result of her loss but is still asking, what is the truth?

By Suzanne Beachy

What happened to Jake?

Seven years after being hospitalized in a psych ward, my brilliant, funny, sensitive, artistic, shining star of a son died as a homeless person after being struck by an Amtrak train in Santa Barbara.

Impossible, sickening, and yet it happened.

I can remember when he was a newly minted mental patient, admitted to OSU’s psych ward at age 21. I and some of Jake’s other supporters were consulting with the people in white coats about his prognosis which was, in their estimation, either grim or grimmer. They…

View original post 783 more words

4 thoughts on “

  1. Hi
    I found this so interesting to read and gives so much hope and understanding. Thanks for sending to me. I have reblogged it on my blogsite but never done it before so hope I have done it right. I think your blog has some very interesting articles and you obviously are very passionate about Mental Health and Wellbeing. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

