Write Me!


From as far back as I can remember, I have written. I wrote using the Underwood typewriter in our house. I wrote in my always unreadable handwriting at school. I tried to write in script but I didn’t like it so I returned to printing. I wrote poems about revolution and black unity when i was going to school surrounded by whites. I wrote essays for school. I wrote love letters and apologies and thank yous and Mom I’m scared and I have no idea what I’m doing here letters.

I wrote grant proposals, newspaper articles and requests for guidelines. When the Internet and blogging started I wrote about the world. Apart from my writing, I learned what others thought and that has been the biggest lesson for me. I have thought of myself as one way but I have learned that sometimes people thought of me a different way. It’s all good because I am still writing.

Leave a Reply

